Share this
  • Edison State Library

    Borrowing Policies

    Library Cards may be obtained free of charge at Student Services, the Darke County Campus front desk, the library information desk, or by phone or email. Library cards are renewed automatically each semester that you are enrolled at Edison State.

    Your library card must be presented at the time of check out. Library cards are also necessary to request and check out OhioLINK items, access library services from off-campus and to use the Learning Center.

    Courtesy library cards are available free of charge to community members. A picture ID is required. Courtesy cards are valid for a period of one year and may be revalidated as long as there are no outstanding loans or charges.

        Youth/Teen Community Borrower
    Adult Community Borrower 
     Age   Up to age 20, with signed parental permission if under age 18   Age 20 and over, with photo ID from service area 
    Local borrowing 
    (Edison State Library)
      Yes    Yes 
    OhioLINK borrowing    No    5 items maximum 
    OhioLINK databases    On-campus only    On-campus only 

    Loan Periods

    • Three weeks for Edison State and OhioLINK books.
    • One week for circulating videos and other media.
    • Reserve materials generally are restricted to in-library use for a period of two hours.


    Renewals

    • Regularly circulating materials can be renewed up to six (6) times, as long as nobody else has requested the item.
    • You can bring items to the library or to the Darke County Campus for renewal by the the library staff, or renew them yourself via the Internet under My Library Record.
    • Items cannot be renewed online if they are overdue.


    Overdue Fines

    • $.25 per day per item for Edison State materials.
    • $.50 per day per item for OhioLINK materials.
    • Maximum fine for materials returned late is $10 per item for Edison State materials and $15 per item for OhioLINK materials.
    • All library privileges are suspended when materials become overdue or when you owe $15 or more on your library account.
    • You may be blocked from registering for classes and have your grades and/or transcripts withheld until any outstanding financial obligations to the library have been met.


    Lost Items

    • You are responsible for the actual replacement cost plus a $5 processing fee in addition to any unpaid overdue fines.
    • You may be blocked from registering for classes and have your grades and/or transcripts withheld until any outstanding financial obligations to the library have been met.